

For Immediate Release Contact: Michael Yaple

Date: July 31, 2019 (609) 376-9072

New Jersey Department of Education Announces 11 New Lighthouse Districts

Ewing, NJ – New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) today announced nine school districts and two charter schools have earned the designation of Lighthouse District for substantial improvement in academic achievement. The 11 Lighthouse award winners were announced today at the NJDOE's statewide "Equity for All" conference at The College of New Jersey.

"Lighthouse Districts can serve as beacons of success for public education in New Jersey," said Education Commissioner Lamont O. Repollet. "We recognize Lighthouse Districts for tremendous academic gains, for demonstrating that all schools can excel and all students can achieve."

The NJDOE launched the Lighthouse District initiative two years ago as a result of conversations with educators, families and students throughout the state, who felt there should be a greater focus on growth rather than proficiency alone.

"The aim of the Lighthouse initiative is not to identify the districts with the highest test scores, but rather districts that have shown the greatest improvement," said Kathy Goldenberg, President of the State Board of Education. "By doing so, we give these local educators a platform in which they can share their initiatives, programs and successes with school leaders in other communities."

The 11 Lighthouse award winners demonstrated measurable progress across diverse groups of learners and used multiple measures to provide individualized support to students and school communities. The NJDOE evaluated four years of district and school-level data to identify districts with the greatest academic improvement. Lighthouse districts are representative of New Jersey's diverse student body, including size of the district and region of the state.

During the award term from July 2019 to July 2021, officials from Lighthouse Districts will have the opportunity to participate in professional learning and networking opportunities between Lighthouse districts and other districts, take part in diversity and inclusion training, and provide insight to the NJDOE through policy discussions.

The 2019 Lighthouse Award recipients are:

County	Recipient
Camden	Waterford Township School District
Cape May	Ocean City School District

Essex	TEAM Academy Charter School
Gloucester	West Deptford Township School District
Mercer	Paul Robeson Charter School for the Humanities
Middlesex	Perth Amboy School District
Monmouth	Long Branch School District
Monmouth	Red Bank Borough School District
Passaic	Little Falls Township School District
Somerset	Somerville School District
Warren	Washington Borough School District